Genesis: New Beginning

It was a hurried transition between KL and London. Working till Monday (2 days before departure), packed whatever I can into a big duffel bag on Tuesday and boarded the Qatar Wed 4.20am flight from KLIA.

Small drama began when my luggage weighed in about 30over kg, way past the 20kg limit for my plane ticket. Funny how much I’ve forgotten about long-haul flying since my last trip to Nepal in 2003. After being informed about the exorbitant excess baggage charges, I began a quick baggage sorting to separate the foodstuff and several change of clothings to my backpack before checking in my big duffel bag to the cheaper cargo transit. All this taking place in the middle of KLIA at an ungodly hour!

Flight by Qatar to London had a brief stopover at Doha. It was an eye-opener for me to see a city rising in the middle of nothing but miles of barren desert, with buildings and the air blanketed by a brownish hue.

Instead of a boring stopover, I started a conversation with a Pakistani 18-year old gal who was travelling with her younger brother to London for a short holiday. We talked about the differences in our lives, especially being females in our respective home countries. For someone my age in Pakistan, I would have been married with plenty of kids and only need to worry about taking care of the household. No such rubbish as still being single, career-driven and travelling to a foreign country alone to start a new chapter in life.

—–

I am thankful for being blessed with a school mate now living in London, who gladly offered me a roof over my head. It is interesting that I’m now staying with Audrey and Chia Hui, both classmates from Subang Jaya and people I rarely get to see in M’sia with our busy working lives. Completing the 4 single gals in this flat is Jocelyn, Singaporean who works at the same place with Audrey.

(Wye Yim’s new abode in London)

Definitely also thankful that the weather in London has seen more warm & sunny days since I arrived. Remembered how cold and miserable I was when I spent a week in London & UK nearly the same time period during my 2001 Europe backpacking escapade.

Since arriving here on 8th Aug, I’ve managed to:-
– orientate myself to the surrounding neighbourhood and locate all the necessary important places for banking, shopping, transport etc. Yes, the start of making mental notes on which grocer stock the cheaper meat and veges
– visit 3 main parks around London; Hampstead Heath, Primrose Hill and Regent Park on a lovely Sunday. The highlight of the walk was the look-out points where one get wide open views of London city and its notable landmarks.
– check out Long Acre (one of London’s main shopping street) nearby Covent Garden, Chinatown at Leicester Square and watched a fusion of Indian & modern dance in Trafalgar Square as part of the “India Now” festival
– celebrate Sasi’s birthday over a nice sit-down dinner with Hema and another friend. A good change from my housemates who are pharmacists and engineer, as Sasi & Hema both work in the financial sector
– overwhelm myself by the variety of displays in The British Museum during an afternoon stroll in between my job interviews. Think I need a long break before i walk into any museum again
– relive my university life when I had to buy groceries, prepare meals and share in the household chores. Nice being independent and fully responsible over my life & health again
– relax with long strolls, reading, scouring the internet for jobs and interesting happenings……big leap out of my comfort zone to begin another chapter of soul-searching.

What lies next? Finding a job to sustain myself here in London, planning my holidays around Europe and experimenting with new recipes and ingredients………….living life to the fullest!
—–
Garden
(Garden at back of Flat)

Humble bedroom
(My humble bedroom)

Living room
(Living room of flat)

Kitchen
(Flat’s kitchen)

About Wye Yim

Wye Yim is just any ordinary Malaysian gal, who have been bitten by the travelling bug and searches for the next adventure thrill. Having done 6 years in a corporate world, she has abandoned her suits and heels to embark on a journey to work in the outdoor industry and fulfill her passion to travel the world.
This entry was posted in London. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Genesis: New Beginning

  1. wwaramblings says:

    Yataaa! I see you are a HeRoes fan as well.. Good luck in your job hunting and have fun in your travels ya 😛

Leave a Reply

