Barney – My new Pet

barney

Meet Barney, my new distraction in life.

After months of searching through ebay for a 2nd hand bike, I chanced upon this purple bike through another UK website. Being fed up with being outbid or missing the bidding deadlines, I gave up on ebay and settled on Barney for being the cheapest bike readily available.

First few rides out were fine, won’t expect to hit peak speed or big jumps on this old baby. Like any Korean drama, life is never that simple.

My first official ride to work was brought to a halt mid-way when my back tyre drew a flat. Luckily I have started the journey 2hr ahead and arrived just in time at work after walking & pushing the bike rest of the way.

Spent next morning replacing the bike tube. Was fortunate to find a bike store in town willing to lend me some tools to sort problem out. Guess the workers must be amused at how long I took to change the tyre – it has indeed been ages since I last fiddled with a bike. Saved myself $17 for the labour cost of just changing back tyre flat.

Night fell and I was soon on my bike cruising home in the chilly air. After one too many hops over kerbs, my rear derailleur came apart and brought an end to my ride home. This incident was disheartening since it was 10pm (next episode of Heroes was to start on TV), I was 15min bike ride to home and my attempts to fix the darn problem in the bloody cold left grease spots on my waterproof jacket and both my hands greased up. Even the public bus was unkind to bar me from the short ride home. I was in such a shambles to probably kill the next person in sight!

Help finally came when Audrey gave me a call after I failed to return home so late in the night. Before long, me and Barney was packed in a car and we were finally back to a warm home.

Maybe God is hinting to me that I should not be biking to work for throwing these 2 incidents back-to-back on me. Never in my life did I have so much problems on a bike within a span of 2 days.

Nevertheless, I am thankful for these episodes since I am now better prepared with my bike tool kit whenever I ride and the knowledge to repair and fine-tune my rear derailleur. Hopefully many happy days with Barney to come.

About Wye Yim

Wye Yim is just any ordinary Malaysian gal, who have been bitten by the travelling bug and searches for the next adventure thrill. Having done 6 years in a corporate world, she has abandoned her suits and heels to embark on a journey to work in the outdoor industry and fulfill her passion to travel the world.
This entry was posted in London. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Barney – My new Pet

  1. czemien says:

    You din lurve lurve ur pet that’s why it FPH and gave u problems! Barney suits it! goes w ur pink iPod huh 😛

Leave a Reply

