Last day in London

Funnily I didn’t actually do anything special during the last two days before I left London for home. At the back of my mind, there was still a glimmer of hope that I may return to UK in July. So there was no particular need to celebrate my departure with a Big Bang.

Instead I spent a wonderful day walking along the River Thames. Started off at Borough Market, which will always be one of my favorite places in this city. Can’t go hungry here with the vast array of food being sold – sausages, chorizo burger, breads, brownies, ice-cream etc. And Monmouth Coffee Company is THE place for my caffeine fix.

From Borough Market, it was a pleasant stroll along the south bank. Passing Tate Modern, I am reminded of the days I used to spend exploring the wonderful exhibits. Spending a whole day inside it was not uncommon – I appreciated the art pieces more when I followed the guided tours conducted by the knowledgable volunteers.

My walk ended at Trafalgar Square – central place where many events took place. Probably best remembered for being the most dangerous section during my cycles to work at Covent Garden. It was the place where I encountered the most traffic, and had to pedal quick enough to turn off into The Strand before buses, taxis and cars come along.

Will I ever get to return to UK again?

londoneye

More pics – http://picasaweb.google.com/wyeyim/LondonLastDay#

About Wye Yim

Wye Yim is just any ordinary Malaysian gal, who have been bitten by the travelling bug and searches for the next adventure thrill. Having done 6 years in a corporate world, she has abandoned her suits and heels to embark on a journey to work in the outdoor industry and fulfill her passion to travel the world.
This entry was posted in London. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

