New Year, New Beginnings

Yes I am reminded that i haven’t been updating my blog for almost 3 months. It’s either there’s nothing to write about, or just too much happening at once for me to grab some time to note it down.

It would be customary for me to recap the previous year for its highlights:

– Spent an amazing winter at farm in Scotland & spring in Dorset.

– Enjoyed the natural wonders of Sarawakian forest, caves & hospitality

– Eventful 2 months journey organising a mountain bike event around Gopeng

– Helped out in two lovely weddings for my 2 close high schoolmates

– Participated in my first spiritual workshop over a weekend in Janda Baik

Nothing was more significant than the return journey back home to Malaysia in June. At first it was with much sadness and hesitation, as I was returning earlier than I planned for. Nevertheless it was a timely occasion since I managed to spend quality time with my grandma before she passed away. And it was wonderful to catch up with old friends and family members after the 1yr 10months absence.

What’s in store for 2010?

Improve my limited Mandarin, give myself enough quality personal time, climb more mountains in Malaysia, beach holiday ….

Definitely to work hard on my new organic farming opportunity. It’s not often one gets to live out an experience before making the big financial investment. My initial passion & enthusiasm was firing me up to just buy/rent a piece of land, work it and turn it into a sustainable venture. My daily struggles and challenges now it proving that it is really hard work and time consuming.

The plan – to learn as much as I can so that i can finally start my own farm in the next 2 years. And a grand walking trip at Milford Sound, NZ in 2011 before this new commitment begins.

Life can be simple…….only humans decide to complicate matters.

 

About Wye Yim

Wye Yim is just any ordinary Malaysian gal, who have been bitten by the travelling bug and searches for the next adventure thrill. Having done 6 years in a corporate world, she has abandoned her suits and heels to embark on a journey to work in the outdoor industry and fulfill her passion to travel the world.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

